top logo netmoduleheader backgroundclaim netmdule: we speak embedded!

Success Story Peter Gübeli - Internet auf See

Success Story Peter Gübeli - Internet auf See/Success Story Peter Gübeli - Internet auf See - Success Story Peter Gübeli - Internet auf See

Der Bootsbesitzer Peter Gübeli hat sein Schiff mit einer NB800 ausgerüstet. Über den Router werden wichtige Bordgeräte wie das Navigationssystem zuverlässig mit dem Internet verbunden.

Das Projekt

Wie mittlerweile fast überall, ist heute auch auf dem Schiff eine vorübergehende Internetverbindung unabdingbar. Die Bordgeräte verlangen nach Informationen wie aktuellen Seekarten oder neuesten Wetterdaten. In den Häfen gibt es heutzutage dazu oft ein WLAN, dass die Schiffsbesitzer nutzen können. In Küstennähe kann zudem auch über LTE eine Verbindung ins Internet hergestellt werden. Ein Smartphone reicht dafür oft nicht aus, da dessen interne Antennen nicht über die nötige Reichweite verfügen.

Peter Gübeli hat nach einem Router gesucht, der automatisch je nach Verfügbarkeit zwischen LTE und WLAN wechseln und so die Internetverbindung stabil gewährleisten kann. Mit dem NB800 hat er das passende Gerät gefunden.

Anforderungen

Folgende Anforderungen muss der NB800 erfüllen, damit dieser auf dem Schiff eingesetzt werden kann:

  • Industrietauglichkeit
  • Speisung mit 12 Volt
  • Externe Antennen
  • Automatisches Umschalten zwischen LTE und WLAN
     

Lösung

Im Technikraum des Motorbootes ist nun eine NB800 fix installiert. Dieses kompakte Gerät ist industrietauglich und kann mit 12 Volt gespiesen werden. Der Router verfügt über ein WLAN- und ein LTE-Modul sowie über eine Ethernet-Schnittstelle.

Über eine Dachantenne mit grosser Reichweite stellt der Router je nach Verfügbarkeit über das LTE- oder das WLAN-Modul eine Internetverbindung her. Befindet sich das Schiff in der Nähe eines Hafens mit einem aktiven WLAN, verbindet sich der Router automatisch damit. Ist kein WLAN verfügbar, wird automatisch auf LTE umgestellt. Dies wird mit dem sogenannten «Link Manager» der NetModule Router Software realisiert. Vom Link Manager wird der WLAN-Link vor dem LTE-Link priorisiert und so wann immer möglich verwendet. Ist der WLAN-Link aktiv, wird im 20-Sekundentakt beispielsweise Google gepingt. Ist Google nicht erreichbar, schaltet der Link Manager auf LTE um. Im Hintergrund wird weiter versucht, über WLAN eine Internetverbindung herzustellen. Sobald dies wieder funktioniert, wird sofort wieder auf WLAN umgestellt und der LTE-Link geschlossen.

Über die Ethernet-Schnittstelle ist der Router mit einem WLAN Access Point verbunden, der dann den Zugang ins Internet auf dem Schiff verteilt. Den Bordgeräten müssen somit nur die Zugangsdaten vom Access Point programmiert werden.

So bleibt der Internetzugang bestehen, auch wenn das Netzwerk wechselt und bisher unbekannte WLAN-Netzwerke müssen nur dem NB800 konfiguriert werden.

Um den Status des Routers jederzeit einfach überprüfen zu können, hat Peter Gübeli zudem ein SDK-Skript aktiviert, welches regelmässig die wichtigsten Parameter ausliest und übersichtlich auf einer Website darstellt. Auf diese kann einfach über den Bordcomputer zugegriffen werden.
Mit dem NB800 hat Peter Gübeli in seinem Boot nun ein stabiles und professionelles Gerät verbaut, das den Anforderungen gerecht wird und den unentbehrlich gewordenen Internetzugang erheblich vereinfacht.

Deshalb NetModule

„Die Stabilität und Einfachheit des NB800 überzeugt mich. Das zuverlässige Wechseln des Netzwerkes ist genau das, was ich gesucht habe.“

Peter Gübeli
Bootsbesitzer

top logo netmoduleheader backgroundclaim netmdule: we speak embedded!

Success Story Peter Guebeli – Internet at Sea

Success Story Peter Guebeli – Internet at Sea/Success Story Peter Guebeli – Internet at Sea - Success Story Peter Guebeli – Internet at Sea

The boat owner Peter Guebeli equipped his ship with an NB800. The router provides a reliable Internet access for important on-board devices such as the navigation system.

The Project

As almost everywhere, a temporary Internet connection is essential today also on ships. The shipboard equipment needs information as current sea charts or latest weather data. At the ports, there is often a WiFi now, which the boat owners can use. Inshore also LTE is available to set up an Internet connection. However, a smartphone is not always sufficient because its internal antennas do not have the necessary range.

Peter Guebeli searched for a router, which switches automatically – depending on the availability - between LTE and WiFi and thus ensures a stable Internet connection. With the NB800, he found the perfect device for his needs.

Requirements

The NB800 must fulfill the following requirements so that it can be used on a boat:

  • Industrial grade
  • Power supply with 12 Volt
  • External antennas
  • Automatic switching between LTE and WiFi

Solution

Now, a NB800 router is permanently installed in the engine room of the boat. The compact industrial grade device can be powered with 12 Volt and integrates a WiFi and a LTE module and an Ethernet interface.

With a long-range roof antenna, the router establishes an Internet connection. Depending on the availability, either the LTE or the WLAN module is used. If the boat is near a port with an active WiFi, the router automatically connects to this network. If no WiFi is available, it’s automatically switched over to LTE. This is realized with the so-called "Link Manager" of the NetModule router software. The Link Manager prioritizes the WiFi over the LTE link and uses it whenever possible. If the WiFi link is active, every 20 seconds a ping, for example to Google, is sent. If Google does not respond, the Link Manager switches over to LTE. In the background, attempts are still being made to establish an Internet connection via WiFi. As soon as this works again, the router immediately switches back to WiFi and the LTE link is closed.

Via the Ethernet interface, the router is connected to a WiFi access point, which distributes the Internet access on board. This has the advantage, that the shipboard equipment only must have programmed the credentials of the access point. Therefore, the Internet access remains unchanged, even if the network changes. Previously unknown WiFi networks only need to be configured to the NB800.
This means that only the access data from the access point must be programmed for the onboard devices. This keeps the network access, even if the network changes and previously unknown WLAN networks only need to be configured to the NB800.

To be able to check the status of the router at any desired time, Peter Guebeli has activated an SDK script, which regularly reads the most important parameters of the router and displays them on a website. The site can easily be accessed via the board computer.
With the NB800, Peter Gübeli has installed a stable and professional device on his boat, which meets the requirements and considerably simplifies the access to the Internet.

Why NetModule

„The stability and simplicity of the NB800 convinces me. The reliable network switching is exactly what I was looking for.”

Peter Guebeli
Owner of the boat